Menu

Jack Heath

Bestselling author of HANGMAN

Hangman, by Jack Heath

Hangman

Hangman is Jack Heath’s adult debut. It is already a bestseller in Australia and will be published in French, German, Russian and audiobook format. The television rights have been optioned by the ABC network in the USA.

Be sure to subscribe to the newsletter and follow @HangmanNovel on Twitter.

An addictive debut thriller starring a FBI consultant with a peculiar taste for crime and punishment…

A boy vanishes on his way home from school. His frantic mother receives a ransom call: pay or else. It’s only hours before the deadline, and the police have no leads. Enter Timothy Blake, an FBI consultant with a knack for solving impossible cases but whose expertise comes at a price. Every time he saves a life, he takes one, trying to satisfy an urge he fears he can only control for so long.

And this time Blake may have met his match. The kidnapper is more cunning and ruthless than any he’s faced before. And he’s been assigned a new partner within the Bureau: a woman linked to the past he’s so desperate to forget. Because he has a secret, one so dark he will do anything to keep it hidden.

For fans of Hannibal and Dexter, Hangman introduces a darkly mesmerizing character whose skill at finding criminals comes from a knowledge that can only be learned firsthand.

Praise for Hangman:

‘Jack Heath’s Hangman is a perverse, twisted take on a crime novel—and I loved every page of it. What a rarity to find a thriller as dark as a Palahniuk and as compulsively readable as a Patterson. Two well-chewed thumbs up for Hangman.’ —Gregg Hurwitz, NYT-Bestselling author of Hellbent

‘Jack Heath’s writing grabs you by the throat, gnaws on your bones, and washes it all down with a hefty dose of funny. Sick, twisted, violent, and oh so good. In Timothy Blake, Heath has created a one-of-a-kind character. I hope.’ —Emma Viskic, internationally bestselling author of And Fire Came Down

‘Wild and original, HANGMAN stamps a high and bloodied mark on this dark genre. Hannibal Lecter will be adding Jack Heath to his reading list.’ —Ben Sanders, internationally bestselling author of American Blood

‘An accomplished and compulsive thriller that kept my appetite to return to its banquet of kidnapping and bloody murder… irresistibly and mercilessly readable.’ —Richard Cotter, Sydney Arts Guide

This is a tale with knives and bullets and animal bites, kidneys surgically removed, bodies devoured, cars stolen, hijacks… Timothy’s inner monologue and his unsaid asides are often laugh-out-loud (if darkly) comical. Fans of Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter novels are likely to enjoy this, and if the reader can get past the protagonist’s perverted appetites, then they can feast on a truly clever and blackly funny tale. More, please!’—Marianne Vincent, retired librarian

What set it apart for me from other thrillers is that it’s half character study and half thriller. The protagonist is interesting from every angle, and you’re constantly trying to figure out if you sympathise with him or not. It’s the kind of book where you feel guilty for having moments of empathy – and then you don’t. This just worked for me on every level. I devoured it over one day.‘—Sophie Mannix, ACT Writers Centre

 

‘Think of the worst thing you can imagine, then go darker. And weirder. If the end days are upon us then this is a book whose time has truly come. A bulletproof thriller, a mesmerising dissection of aberration and shame and an astonishing, addictive page-turner, Hangman will blow your mind. Chuck Palahniuk rewrites Dexter with a godalmighty twist that will take your breath away. Welcome to a new kind of crime hero and a world where nothing is as it seems. You might want to look away but you won’t be able to resist.’ —Jane Palfreyman, publisher of The Slap, The Natural Way of Things and Hangman.